The SFB short film:

About property in transition and the work of the SFB.

This film is the work of Catharina Göldner and Katharina Hamann.

Project Areas A at the opening of the SFB in July 2021.

Image: Anne Günther (Universität Jena)

Project Areas B at the opening of the SFB in July 2021.

Image: Anne Günther (Universität Jena)

Project Areas C at the opening of the SFB in July 2021.

Image: Anne Günther (FSU Jena)

Welcome to the website of the Collaborative Research Centre TRR 294 "Structural Change of Property"!

The Collaborative Research Centre pursues the goal of investigating the fundamental structural change of property that could be observed at the latest since 1989.  The Collaborative Research Centre contains a total of 23 subprojects at five locations in Germany: Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena (Sprecher*innenhochschule), Universität Erfurt, Freie Universität BerlinCarl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg, Technische Universität Darmstadt.

While private property has gained in importance worldwide since 1989 under conditions of increasing concentration and deregulation, the resulting property system has proved to be both crisis-prone and highly controversial in the face of new economic, political and technological challenges. It isn´t challenged only by the global financial and economic crises, but also by political conflicts over the appropriation, distribution and containment of private property, as well as by the dynamics of the knowledge and bio-economies, which are linked to alternative concepts of common property, shared use and free access to resources.


New publication

Subproject B06 has published a new journal article “Financial Solidarity or Autonomy? How Gendered Wealth and Income Inequalities Influence Couples' Money Management” in Social Inlcusion 11(1). The article is available via open access.

New podcast episode Appropriate

In the third episode of our mini-series about Global Commons, we hear from Megan Blomfield about Carbon Sink as a Global Commons. 

visit page

New publication

Silke van Dyk has published a new article in Kurswechsel entitled “(De-)Privatisation and Collective Property. From the narrowing of the distribution question to a new politics of the public”.

read more

New Episode of Appropriate

Part 2 of the mini-series on the global commons is now available. In the second episode, Isabel Feichtner talks about the deep seabed as a special form of the global commons.

visit page


End-of-semester event winter 2022/2023

The event will take place in person in Jena.

The reading workshop "Historical Perspectives on Property" will take place. There will also be project area meetings in the afternoon.

FU Berlin; Berlin

“Dimensions of Property in Reproductive Economies: Practices, Interpretations and Discourses”

The workshop is organised by subproject C02 and will be held in English. There will be an online and a face-to-face part. Registration is requested by 31.01.2023 to

The keynote will be given by Janice Richardson (Monash University). There will be further contributions from: Charlotte Kroløkke (University of Southern Denmark, Odense), Vincenzo Pavone (Institute of Public Goods and Policies (IPP) of the National Research Council of Spain (CSIC), Madrid), Sara Lafuente-Funes (Goethe University, Frankfurt/Main) and Veronika Siegl (University of Vienna).

You can download the full programme here.

read more